The West Dulwich Forum
Share your thoughts about Dulwich and West Dulwich, SE21

Best selling author Salley Vickers in conversation with Joy Rhoades in Dulwich Thursday 19th October
Posted by: Village Books 25 September, 2017 08:51

Join Village Books in Dulwich Village on Thursday 19th October for an evening with Salley Vickers

Tickets are £8 & include a glass of wine or soft drink. BOOK TICKETS HERE: www.village-books.co.uk

Salley Vickers first novel Miss Garnet’s Angel was an international word of mouth bestseller, and she has since established herself as one of our leading novelists, in the tradition of Penelope Fitzgerald and Marilynne Robinson. In her latest book, Cousins, brilliant and mercurial Will Tye suffers a life changing accident with consequences which echo through three generations of the Tye family. Each member of the family holds some clue to the chain of events which may have led to the accident and each holds themselves to blame.

Cousins is a subtle novel weaving darkness and light which takes us from the outbreak of World War Two to the present day, exploring the recurrence of tragedy, the nature of transgression, and the limits of morality and love.

Salley will be in conversation with Joy Rhoades. Joy is the author of The Woolgrower’s Companion is the gripping love story of one woman’s fight to save her home and a passionate tribute to Australia’s landscape and its peoples.

Hazel loved Joy’s novel and says – it is a gripping tale beautifully told that has been described as “Captain Corelli meets The Thornbirds”, though she thinks it has a flavour of A Town Like Alice.

This event is taking place at Bell House, 27 College Road, Dulwich Village.



Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.
                                Terms of use               RSS rss feed                Help & FAQs               Website Design