The West Dulwich Forum
Share your thoughts about Dulwich and West Dulwich, SE21

You are here: Forum > The Lounge
Masters Student - Infant Observation ( Start ASAP - before June )
Posted by: charle41 25 February, 2021 00:10

Hello Everyone 🙂

Voluntary Infant Observation Opportunity For a Master Degree

Hope you are all well and staying safe.

I am 22 years of age and have just finished my BSc in Psychology and I am currently studying a Masters Degree in Psychodynamics of Human Development at Birbeck University in association with the British Psychotherapy Foundation , as I aspire to become a Child & adolescent Psychotherapist.

An essential component of the degree is infant observations which all aspiring psychotherapist are required to do. This will involve me observing a baby and their family in their day-to-day environment once a week, one hour per session, for two years excluding any holidays, other life commitments etc as I understand people are busy so I am very accomodating and adjustments can be made.

I will be more than willing to arrange an initial meeting with you to explain the details. Due to the Covid-19 situation, the initial meeting and the subsequent infant observation process will be arranged online (Skype, Zoom etc).

The observational process is non-directive, non-interventional. I will be like a listener rather than a teacher/instructor. With your assistance, the study will have an opportunity to learn from your emotional attunement with your baby in a day-to-day family environment.

This project is completely voluntary and tell help an aspiring psychotherapist. The details of the observational process will be kept strictly confidential. I have a Enhanced child and adult DBS on request.

I understand this is a big ask but I would be very appreciative as fulfilling this degree is so important to me and my development as a Child Psychotherapist.